Skip to content

Who Were The Original 8 Teams In The NFL?

I think you are curious… Who had been the initial eight teams in the NFL?

Although generally there are not actually any recognized “Original 8” teams, in case you are asking who had been the initial eight teams in the NFL, we might think about the brand new York Giants, Chicago Bears, Arizona Cardinals, Green Bay Packers, Philadelphia Eagles, Washington Redskins, Detroit Lions, moreover Pittsburgh Steelers as the master copies.
The History Behind the eight Original Teams in the NFL

The NFL was once recognized as the American Professional Football Association or maybe APFA. In 1920, it started with only fourteen teams, 2 of what – the Decatur Staleys and also the Chicago Cardinals – continue to be available, as the Chicago Bears and also the Arizona Cardinals nowadays.

In 1926, the quantity of teams went down within the very first ten years of the league’s existence. It went down close to twenty two in that exact same year, and also dropped to twelve the subsequent year.
In 1932, the very first playoffs took place and roughly eight teams have been present – specifically the Chicago Bears, the Chicago Cardinals, the Green Bay Packers, the brand new York Giants, the Boston Braves (presently referred to as the Washington Redskins), the Portsmouth Spartans, the Staten Island Stapletons, and the Brooklyn Dodgers (possibly present day Indianapolis Colts).
In 1943, the NFL had eight teams once more, and they will be the Dodgers, the Redskins, the Bears, the Cardinals, the Giants, Packers, the Detroit Lions, and the unconventional Philadelphia Pittsburgh Steagles (merging of the Eagles as well as Steelers in a single season because of the wartime participant shortage).
Starting 1944 to 1969, Cowboys, Falcons, Saints, Vikings, 49ers, Browns, the Rams, and Colts have been included. Next in 1969, the league merged together with the AFL, which included 10 fresh teams.

The Initial Eight Teams In NFL:

Since the Giants, Eagles, Redskins, Lions, Packers, Cardinals, Bears, and Steelers are the master copies of ours in the NFL. Here is a brief history of all of the teams we considered:

  1. New York Giants

In 1925, the Giants had been created by Tim Mara, the initial owner, with an asset of $500. They’re currently called “New York Football Giants” legally around this particular morning to differentiate themselves from the baseball group through exactly the same title. They became one of the primary teams in the so called five-year-old National Football League.

  1. Chicago Bears

In 1920, the businessman A.E. Staley founded a franchise which had become the Bears. It was primary referred to as the Decatur (Illinois) Staleys. In 1921, George Halas – the player coach of the brand new staff – moved it to Chicago after Staley handed the young franchise over to him.

  1. Arizona Cardinals

Together with Chicago Bears, they’re among 2 charter members of the National Football League however current till nowadays. The Cardinals would be the earliest extant professional football club in the United States too. In 1960, the franchise relocated from Chicago to St. Louis, and also in 1988, it relocated to Phoenix, Arizona.

  1. Green Bay Packers

On August eleven, 1919, the Green Bay Packers have been created by former high school football rivals Earl “Curly” Lambeau and George Whitney Calhoun. They’re the only ones left of the “small town teams” that have been typical in the NFL throughout the league’s beginning of the 1920s as well as 1930s.

  1. Detroit Lions

An expert American football franchise named Detroit Lions which relies in Detroit, Michigan goes back to 1928 once they had in Portsmouth, Ohio as the Portsmouth Spartans. They are going to begin their 92nd season in 2020, having on being among the National Football League’s oldest franchises.

  1. Washington Redskins

The Washington Redskins, recognized to be among the NFL’s most-storied and oldest franchises, were created in 1932 with the title Boston Braves.[2] In 1933, the team’s name was transformed to Redskins. In 1937, the staff moved to Washington, D.C. exactly where they immediately received the very first of its 5 World Championships.

  1. Philadelphia Eagles

In 1933, the story of the Philadelphia Eagles started. The Eagles have done in the Super Bowl 3 times, losing in their very first 2 appearances but effectively earning the last, in 2018. They won 3 NFL Championships, the forerunner to the Super Bowl, in 4 appearances.

  1. Pittsburgh Steelers

On July eight, 1933, Arthur J. Rooney created the Pittsburgh Steelers. The Pittsburgh staff was recognized as the Pirates until 1940, which makes it the seventh oldest franchise in the NFL as of today. Pittsburgh’s being successful in the 1970s was the exact opposite aspect of the Steelers’ experiences in the beginning years of theirs.